5 Common Sushi Types You Should Know

ca3Sushi is any dish that’s made using vinegared sushi rice. If you’re eating sushi for the first time, you may find yourself not knowing what to order since there are several, different types available. We recommend you go to and try sushi Orlando and have a great experience.

With that in mind, here are the five most common sushi types you’ll find in restaurants:


This is the most common sushi type. The word Makizushi means “rolled sushi.” It is usually made by wrapping meat, fish or vegetables in seaweed (nori), using a makisu (bamboo mat). Makizushi can also be wrapped in a thin egge omellete or cucumber or soy paper. Every roll is cut into 6 to 8 pieces, which you either eat using chopsticks or with your fingers. The most commont makizushi types are:

Futomaki – means large, thick rolls with 2 or more fillings. Nori is usually on the outside.

Hosomaki – means thin rolls with only one filling. Some of the popular choices are avocado, tuna and carrot.

Ehomaki – means lucky direction rolls. They are typically filled with exactly 7 different ingredients, including egg, mushrooms and eel among others.

Tamaki – means hand rolls. This is a huge, corn-shaped nori piece that is filled with different ingredients. It can be difficult to eat with chopsticks, so using your hand is advisable.


Nigirizushi or nigiri literally means hand-pressed sushi. In this type of sushi, the rice is hand-pressed to form a mound. Then, a slice of seafood (normally Tuna or Salmon) is placed over the mound, and finished with some topping. Most chefs sometimes add wasabi between the seafood and rice. Most common toppings are sea eel, octopus and sweet egg.


Chirashizushi means scattered sushi. It usually consists of a bowl of sushi rice covered with several toppings, most commonly raw fish. However, it can also be topped with garnishes or raw vegetables. Because of how easy it is to prepare, Chirashizushi is very popular in many Japanase homes.


This type of sushi is named after a certain Shinto god called Inari, who is believed to have loved tofu. It is made by filling a pouch of fried tofu with sushi rice. You can either buy already made inarizushi or prepare it yourself. The latter is always better since it allows you to adjust the ingredients to your liking.


It is also called hakosushi, meaning – box sushi. Oshibako, which is a wooden mold, is usually used to prepare this type of sushi. The mold bottom is lined with topping covered in sushi rice, after which the top of the mold is gently pressed down. This creates a solid, rectangular box, which is cut into either rectangle or square shapes and served.

Now that you know the main sushi types, you shouldn’t get confused the next time you go to a restaurant.

About Author

James Castillo

Hi there! Are you the type of person that enjoys
watching or reading the the latest news? or Are you
the type of person that likes to expand their general
knowledge about anything? If you are then you will surely
enjoy this site!

By the way my name is James, thanks everyone!